Planet Tectonic

By Amrita Carroll

IMAGES showing earth’s FIFTEEN tectonic plates as they dissect continents and oceans have been produced.

Global tectonics, Arabia and Indian Ocean

Pictures reveal the plate boundaries, which are highlighted in yellow, including the eight major plates, African, Antarctic, Indian, Australian, Eurasian, North American, South American and Pacific Plate.

Global tectonics, north-western Atlantic

As well as the seven minor plates, Arabian, Caribbean, Juan de Fuca, Cocos, Nazca, Philippine Sea Plate and Scotia Plate.

Global tectonics, western Pacific Plate

The movement of the tectonic plates by convection currents in the underlying mantle over the millions of years of geologic time drives the creation, destruction and drifting of the continents.

World tectonic plates, global map


Click to license images.